Day 3: Unmoderated User Testing in Maze using Figma prototype

The essence that is the collation and analysing of data for actionable insights

What is user testing?

This allows me to check the accessibility and usability of my solution. It helps me uncover potential issues, pain points, and the like before production.

Unmoderated user testing?

This is a qualitative study that provides me with actionable insights into how potential users interact with my solution. It is not monitored or guided.

Examples of unmoderated research techniques: card sorting, click testing, diary studies, surveys, etc.

Getting Started?

  1. Define goals and target user(s)

  2. Decide technique and method

  3. Choose a tool

  4. Recruit participants

  5. Write the test script

    • Intro

    • Background questions

    • Main tasks

    • Wrap up

  6. Conduct a pilot test

  7. Launch my test

  8. Analyze the results

N/B: I should stick to a maximum of eight tasks to avoid overwhelming the user. I have to keep my language clear and simple. I should also avoid asking someone who is too familiar with the product, as this can impact the results.

Pros of Unmoderated user testing

  1. Low cost

  2. Multiple tests can be done at the same time

  3. Flexibility is prioritized

Cons of Unmoderated user testing

  1. Overcommunication and assumptions are the order of the day(in terms of interaction and possible results)

  2. The environment and participants can't be controlled.

Key takeaway/learning

It is a basic necessity to have a human-centered mindset at an organizational and/or personal level. Moderated and unmoderated usability testing is qualitative.

References

Thank you for reading my article.