Day 15: Remote User Testing with Figma and Maze

Introduction

Using today's resource, I learned how to conduct a remote user testing session using Maze. Maze is a super cool tool that provides in-depth insights such as heat maps, usability scores, etc. I shared my learnings on this on Day 3. Now, I will briefly share more about user research.

As designers, working with assumptions becomes dangerous when treated as facts. Design research gives us a structured, methodical approach to understanding our users. Though we pay homage to aesthetic quality, what anchors everything designers do is that we do it with the end user in mind.

Design is a service first backed with profound knowledge - Manzini, 2003

Through design research, we can;

  1. Inform the design of products and services.

  2. Reduce the cost of reaching success.

  3. Validate assumptions.

Design Research methods

A list of some methods we should be aware of.

  1. Focus groups

  2. Interviews

  3. Directed storytelling

  4. Diary studies

  5. Field studies

  6. Video ethnography

  7. Picture cards

  8. Usability testing

  9. A/B testing

  10. Participatory design

The work that uncovers and articulates the needs of individuals and/or groups in order to inform the design of products and services in a structured manner - Nick Remis, Adaptive Path.

Key learnings/takeaways

The more I venture into this challenge, the more I realize I have a lot to learn. Design is more than fancy and aesthetic pixels; what problem am I trying to solve? Am I meeting the needs of my user? Yes, my design is minimal and usable, but to what end? I am excited about what the future holds for my design career.

References

Thank you for reading my article, have a swell weekend👋🏽